About Us

Saltburn Valleys CIO

The Saltburn Valleys CIO (Charitable Incorporated Organisation) was formed in 2017 to promote the conservation, protection and improvement of the land, gardens, woodlands, walkways, play areas, waterways, wildlife and natural environment, historic monuments and properties in the Saltburn Valleys.

For our charitable purposes, the ‘Saltburn Valleys’ are defined as the areas of open space and woodlands situated in and around Saltburn- by-the- sea, North Yorkshire and which include Hazel Grove, Saltburn Valley Gardens, Saltburn Gill  and a series of attached woodlands.

Our aims and objectives include

Carrying out environmental, river and woodland management

Applying for grants and fundraising for carrying out improvement works for public benefit.

Advancing awareness by educating the public about the heritage of the Saltburn Valleys 

Carrying out and sponsoring research

Making grants to community groups for works in the Valleys

Providing information 

We will do these things through the provision of facilities for recreation and other leisure-time occupation in the interests of social welfare with the object of improving the conditions of life for all; 

and by the provision of public works and services (such as the repair and maintenance of buildings, paths, steps, railings, seats, play areas and play equipment, access roads, safety barriers and bridges) and the provision of public amenities, such as public conveniences